The CTA Miriam Wolfe Scholarship was established in 1989 in memory of CTA alumna Miriam Wolfe, who died in the 1988 bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland.  

Miriam’s mother, Rosemary Mild, often participates in the scholarship selection process, and gives the winners an autographed copy of her book “Miriam’s World – and Mine.” The scholarship is supported by concession sales at CTA events throughout the year. CTA grants two scholarships, $1,500 and $1,000, to two CTA kids who have participated fully and given back to the organization. 

Miriam Luby Wolfe

September 26, 1968–December 21, 1988


Graduating high school seniors may participate by submitting the application and any other supporting material to the scholarship committee.


  • Completed application, including transcripts or high school counselor signature.

  • Be a high school senior.

  • Have a grade point average of 2.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale.

  • Have paid the annual registration fee for Children’s Theatre of Annapolis (CTA). If you are not a current member of CTA, please call the office at 410-757-2281 to pay the $20 annual registration fee before submitting your application.

  • Plan to be involved in the performing arts at the college level. This includes both artistic and technical aspects of the performing arts.

    • Please note: This scholarship does not require the applicant to major in the performing arts in order to be eligible.

  • Complete the application according to directions, including the required essay questions. The use of additional pages is accepted. Do NOT include personal resumes.

  • Provide one (1) letter of recommendation from an adult individual associated with the performing arts. The recommendation CANNOT be from a relative of the applicant.

  • Submit the completed application, essays, and letter of recommendation electronically to scholarships@childrenstheatreofannapolis.org by the March 31 deadline. 

Please note: 

  • To qualify for consideration of this scholarship, all criteria must be met and the information provided on the application must be complete.  This includes the verified GPA and a signature from a school counselor or a current official high school transcript.

  • By submitting this application, the applicant acknowledges that he/she is no longer eligible to participate in CTA productions as a student performer as of the end of the current school year.


The CTA board established a scholarship committee for the purpose of grading and selecting prospective recipients. The scholarship committee is comprised of three CTA board members and three outside panelists. These non-CTA members are selected carefully, so they do not have any connection to the applicants.


The applications are read and graded carefully using the following system:

  • 30 points for contributions to CTA (both performing and technical)

  • 15 points for other participation in performing arts (performing, technical or support role)

  • 10 points for training in performing arts or a technical aspect of the arts (school, community, private)

  • 10 points for special honors or awards (school or community)

  • 5 points for other activities (not in the performing arts) that you have participated in during grade 9-12. (Community, church, school, sports, etc.)

  • 15 points for a 200-word-or-less essay: How has CTA influenced who you are today? 

  • 15 points for a 200-word-or-less essay: How do you imagine the performing arts will continue to be a part of your future? 

Total possible points = 100

Applicants must grade at 80 points or better to be considered for the award.


CTA will award a maximum of 2 scholarships, one for $1,500 and the second for $1,000. In the case of a point tie, the funds will be equally divided and each awardee will receive $1,250.


In the event that no applicant meets the required 80 points, the funds will be held for future years. Any funds raised from concessions in excess of the scholarship amounts will be held over for future years. 

2021 – Drew Sharpe, Arden Tierney

2020 – Annabelle Cotton, Matthew Beagan

2019 – Madison Sokolowski, Dave Martinek

2018 – Hannah Wilson

2017 – Matthew Lucente, Ella Green

2016 – Alexandra Baca, Geneva Croteau

2015 – Elizabeth Steele, Colleen Coleman

2014 – Maddie Poole, Cassidy Hamilton

2013 – Austin Heemstra, Nick Brice

2012 – Jessica Straub, Mark Hollerbach

2011 – Justin Binnix, Zachary Konick

2010 – Molly Dukes, Steve Mangum

2009 – RJ Pavel, Katherine RIddle

2008 – Lindsay Espinosa, Bethany Lamolinara

2007 – Chris Engler, Josh Konick

2006 – Katie Gardner, Jillian Foley

2005 – Andrew Lincoln, Brittany Taylor

2004 – Jamie Boyle, Elena Crall

2003 – Kerry Deitrick, Eileen Keck, Angie Boss

2002 – Carrie Ponder, Brian Hoffman

2001 – Hayley Clark

2000 – Kathleen Scott

1999 – Robin Beers, Katy Smith​

1998 – Josh McGuire

1997 – Christopher Dahl

1996 – Justin Brill

1995 – Karen Zucco

1994 – Susan Woda

1993 – Tiffany Baldwin

1992 – Lauren Kirby

1991 – Karl-Erik Johnson

1990 – Nicole Roblyer





Completed applications must be received by 11:59 p.m. ET March 31, 2022. No exceptions will be made.