CTA Welcomes New Executive Director

April Forrer takes the helm of Children's Theatre of Annapolis, as the nonprofit installs the 2019-2021 Board of Directors

Children's Theatre of Annapolis (CTA) is pleased to announce the appointment of April Forrer as its next executive director, effective July 1, 2019. 

Forrer joins CTA from Baltimore-based Iron Crow, where she serves as the part-time managing director of the theatre. Previously, Forrer also worked as managing director and resident costume designer for Baltimore Shakespeare Factory and as director of operations for the Boys & Girls Club of Annapolis & Anne Arundel County.

"April brings an impressive combination of operations management, fundraising and marketing skills to our organization," said Kelsey Casselbury, the newly elected president of CTA. "Her long history with and love of theatre is simply the cherry on top." 

Forrer has a Master of Public Administration from George Washington University in Washington, D.C. She brings to CTA more than 15 years of both nonprofit and theatrical experience. 

"I am thrilled to be joining Children's Theatre of Annapolis and to become a part of the fabulous team dedicated to children in the arts," Forrer said. "We are excited about our plans to grow to and to increase our reach into our community."

Forrer succeeds Michelle Lucente, who departed the organization on May 31 after three successful years as executive director. Forrer joins CTA's other full-time employee, Jason Kimmell, who serves as theatre operations manager and director of education, in furthering the organization's mission of nurturing the growth and development of the love of theatre in children age 5 to 18. 

The Children's Theatre of Annapolis also welcomes its 2019-2021 Board of Directors, installed  July 1. The executive board consists of: 

  • Kelsey Casselbury, President: Casselbury has served on the CTA Board of Directors for 7 years, most notably as the chair of publicity and 2017-2019 secretary. She runs her own freelance writing, editing and design business.

  • Michelle Bruno, Vice President: Bruno has served as artistic staff and as a teaching artist, as well as a member of the Board of Directors, since 2015. Professionally, she works as Associate Director of Quality Control for a local pharmaceutical company. 

  • Jaime Thompson, Treasurer: Thompson was elected to the Board of Directors in 2019. She serves as the CFO for her business, Bayside Accounting and Consulting.

  • Tracy Rinehart, Secretary: Rinehart, a former high school teacher, has been involved in CTA for three years and joined the board of directors in 2018.  Rinehart has served several years on the executive PA board at the Key School, and has served on the Board of the Annapolis Book Festival since 2013.

  • Beth Wilson, Immediate Past President: Wilson served as CTA president from 2017-2019, secretary from 2015-2017 and has been on the Board of Directors since 2015. She is employed as a nurse at University of Maryland Medical Center. 

The additional valued members of the Board of Directors are Tiffany Dean, Natalie Devries, Kathy Garrity, Cathy Hollerbach, Natasha Hitchcock, Dylan Roche and Allyson Tierney. 

To contact Forrer, email To reach Casselbury or for media inquiries, email For general inquiries, email