CTA Announces the 2022 Miriam Wolfe Scholarship Winners

Children’s Theatre of Annapolis (CTA) is pleased to announce the 2022 winners of the Miriam Wolfe Scholarship: Andrew Wilson, Liam O’Toole and Haven Hitchcock. This is only the second time in the 32-year history of the memorial scholarship—established in honor of CTA alumna Miriam Wolfe, who perished in the 1988 bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland—that three graduating seniors have earned the award.Read More

CTA Announces 2020 Scholarship Winners

Children’s Theatre of Annapolis is pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 Miriam Wolfe Scholarship. The CTA Miriam Wolfe Scholarship was established in 1989 in memory of CTA alumna Miriam Wolfe, who died in the 1988 bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland.
The top award of $1,500 goes to Annabelle Cotton, a 2020 graduate of Severna Park High School. Cotton has been involved with CTA since 2014 and was most recently seen playing the role of Kala in CTA’s 2019 production of “Tarzan.” She plans to study Digital Media and Interactive Design at the University of Pittsburgh.
“CTA has gifted me the opportunity to stand on a stage, but it’s done much more than just that. It’s given me a family, confidence, and love. It’s forever changed my life,” Cotton wrote in her application essay.
The second scholarship of $1,000 goes to Matthew Beagan, a 2020 graduate of The Severn School. Beagan has been involved in CTA since 2010 through participation in workshops, as a performer and as a stage crew volunteer. He plans to attend Boston University’s School of Theatre for a BFA in Acting.
“Through my experience at CTA, I learned about teamwork and what it means to support others. I can always count on my CTA theatre friends to help me any time I ask. We support each other inside and outside of the theatre,” Beagan wrote in his application essay.
Congratulations to all of CTA’s graduating seniors, and thank you for your dedication to our organization.

Congratulations to CTA’s Seniors and 2018 Scholarship Winners

Congratulations to CTA’s graduating seniors, many of whom attended the May 19th performance of Madagascar Jr.: Jeremy Allen, Jr, Drew Bristow, Thomas Donegan, Felicity Davis, Jake Wernecke and Hannah Wilson. Everyone at CTA wishes you the very best in your next adventure!
CTA is also proud to announce that Hannah Wilson was the recipient of the Miriam Wolfe Memorial Scholarship. Additionally, Jeremy Allen, Sr., CEO and Executive Director of jMichael Productions awarded a $500 scholarship to each of CTA’s two qualifying seniors, Hannah Wilson and Jake Wernecke.

CTA awards 2017 scholarships to two young performers

ANNAPOLIS, Md.— Children’s Theatre of Annapolis is proud to announce that on June 29, 2017, the theater awarded two scholarships to two worthy young artists who plan to pursue a career in the arts. Since 1988, CTA has chosen dedicated seniors to receive the scholarship and, in 2017, Annapolis High School graduate Matthew Lucente and Severn School graduate Ella Green were awarded the Miriam Wolfe scholarships.
Matthew Lucente, the $1,500 scholarship recipient, is a 2017 graduate of Annapolis High School where he participated in the Performing and Visual Arts Theatre Magnet Program (PVA). Throughout his four years of studies in the performing arts, Matthew gained extensive experience in all aspects of theatre including acting, directing, producing, and designing. Matthew has performed in seven shows at Children’s Theatre of Annapolis (most recently as a Wickersham Brother in Seussical), and has performed in many shows and theatrical pieces presented by the PVA program. Matthew will attend Anne Arundel Community College where he will major in education with a minor in theatre arts.
The second recipient, Ella Green, was awarded a $1,000 scholarship. She is a 2017 graduate of Severn School and has diligently studied voice, dance, and performance throughout central Maryland and Washington, D.C., for the past six years. Ella has performed in seven of CTA’s mainstage productions (most recently as Mrs. Winnifred Banks in Mary Poppins) and two years with Second Stage, the teen musical theatre travelling troupe, as well as other productions throughout the community. As a well-rounded performer, she has also worked as technical team member for two of our main stage productions. Ella will attend Belmont University in Nashville, Tenn., where she will study Musical Theatre.
The CTA Miriam Wolfe Scholarship was established in 1988 in memory of CTA alum Miriam Wolfe who died in the bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland. Miriam’s mother, Rosemary Mild, often participates in the scholarship selection process, and gives the winners an autographed copy of her book “Miriam’s World – and Mine.” The scholarship is supported by concession sales at CTA events throughout the year. CTA grants two scholarships, $1,500 and $1,000, to two CTA kids who have participated fully and given back to the organization.